Because Gabrielle makes sense.

I guess it’s funny how things change
I turn a corner and your life has turned a page
I saw the story in your eyes begin to fade before you hit the ground
I saw you hit the ground

Trying to work out what it means
How can it all come down to lines upon a screen?
How can we lose something we’ve tried so hard to keep out of the lost and found?
The lost and found

So keep your head up in the clouds
Live tomorrow now
Run rings ’round roses til we all fall down
Til we all fall down

This song makes so much sense that it is almost scary. I have a friend and we used to talk about songs, or poems, or quotes that make you feel like they were just written for you. Well, this song, this is the song that makes me feel like it was written for me. Especially: ‘Trying to work out what it means, how can it all come down to lines upon a screen? How can we lose something we try so hard to keep out of the lost and found?’

Gabrielle Aplin is my favourite, and she has released a whole album since this song, but one album and two concerts later and this is still the song I come back to.

About katiestamps

I'm Katie, I'm 23 and I'm from Newcastle. I'm a part-time working student, completing an MA in English Literature. I'm boring, sentimental, confusing and confused, an avid tea and vodka drinker and I like music and books. If you haven't guessed by now, I'm also terrible at writing about myself. My URL came from a conversation with my great-grandmother. I'm scared of the world and her little speech has made me do all sorts of strange things.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Because Gabrielle makes sense.

  1. She really makes sense. Finally something good appears in this industry that’s been called music!!! I just love her, my favourite song is Wake up with me 🙂

Leave a comment